Online Marketing Terms To Know
- Rocio Flores
- Jan 11, 2018
- 29 min read

So you have decided to start your own business or you joined an MLM company and you're excited to join your first web conference or webinar, you log on and... you now have no idea what anyone is talking about, all these complicated and technical sounding online marketing terms are being used and you feel lost! You may have even felt lost during that last sentence! Well fear no more, I have a huge list of terms that you will encounter throughout your marketing journey. YAY!!
To be honest, I was so lost for like the first whole year that I started learning about marketing! They kept talking about "Leads" and I didn't understand what that meant. I felt dumb and I had no idea who to ask for help and every Google search led me to websites offering to sell me leads! Since my first language is Spanish and the only person who talked about business things in my house was my mom, in Spanish, I literally had never heard the word lead used as a way to describe a prospecting customer. Once I figured out what it meant, it made a whole lot of other trainings more understandable.
So I am going to be honest here and just tell you that I didn't make this list nor have I had to encounter the usage of every single term on here. I prefer to defer to the experts and when I first started and even to this day MyLeadSystemPro was my guide to learning about online business and marketing. They literally have this Glossary of Terms in there for us to use. So...I am copy and pasting it and I hope that it helps you!
If this is an article that helps you or you believe can help others, please share it :)
Along with this awesome list of terms, MLSP also has a whole library of marketing training and tools to help you with marketing your online business, make sure you check it out here.
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AdGroup
An Ad group is an organized group of keywords within a Campaign. Keywords in the same Ad Group trigger the same ad text, or creative. It's best to group your keywords thematically so you can target ads toward each theme, market, product or service.
Adsense
Google's contextual ad program for website publishers. Publishers place text ads provided by Google on their site, and earn a portion of the click through revenue.
Adwords
Google's contextual ad program for advertisers. Advertisers receive preferred placement (as Sponsored Links) for given keywords, based on a pay-per-click revenue model.
Algorithm
The detailed sequence of actions used by search engines to rank web pages. The most famous Search Engine Algorithm is PageRank - Google's indexing method that assigns different weights to multiple variables of a website, including: keyword density, link popularity, website authority, etc.
Article
Writing and submitting optimized articles on the subject of your webiste content is an important and effective aspect of Search Engine Marketing.
Authenticity
The sense that something or someone is "real". Blogs enable people to publish content and engage in conversations that show their interests and values, and so help develop an authentic voice online.
Autoresponder
An autoresponder is a program that automatically sends an email message at a set time or in response to an action taken by a computer. For example, when a visitor to your website requests information by sending you an email or clicking on a link, your autoresponder may automatically reply wth a pre-determined email message. You can set up autoresponders to send out sales information, letters, follow-up inquires or notices.
Average CPC - Cost Per Click
The average amount actual advertisers are paying for each click-through from their ad to their website.
Aweber
Aweber Communications develops and manages online opt-in email newsletters, follow-up automation, and email deliverability services for small business customers around the world. (See Autoreponder)
Banner
A banner is simply an advertisement displayed on your web page in a traditional banner shape. A banner can display virtually anything, although in e-commerce it is primarily used as an advertising tool that acts as a link to an advertiser's website. If you publish a newsletter or ezine, you may choose to include banners that promote another company's product or service. (The standard banner size is 460 pixels wide and 60 pixels high).
Benefit
It's essential to understand the difference between "features" and "benefits". Benefits is a marketing term that shifts the focus from product feature to how this feature will benefit the customer. "What's in it for me?" is the question every visitor will ask themselves when looking at a sales message. Unless your sales text is packed with benefit-oriented text, forget about the sale.
Bid
The amount an advertiser is willing to pay for Adwords traffic per each click, for example.
Billboard Side
The billboard side of the postcard is the "draw" the attention getter. It will be seen by most recipients. Make sure
it is used wisely with a graphic and a headline that screams "read me" to your target market.
Blacklist
A blacklist is a list of known or suspected senders of spam. Blacklists are maintained by ISPs and spam-fighting organizations - and if your name gets blacklisted, it can be very difficult to have it removed. Legitimate email marketers can stay out of trouble with blacklists by following these guidelines:
* Use a confirmed opt-in system for collecting email addresses. ie: autoresponder * Include an unsubscribe link in every email you send. * Send only materials that reflect the relationship you have established with the people on your list.
Blog
A frequently updated webiste involving reverse-chronological "posts" or, a short opinion, news or gossip updates, with a collaborative interface. Websites with dated items of content in reverse chronological order, self-published by bloggers. Items - sometimes called posts - may have keyword tags associated with them, are usually available as feeds, and often allow commenting.
Blog Reader
A platform for reading blogs, similar to Google Reader.
Body Copy
The body copy is the description of your offer and benefits. Use only short sentences that are precise, persuasive, and written in conversational tone. The decision on whether or not to continue to read the postcard happens with every line a prospect reads, so make sure that every word is attention getting or provocative.
Bonus
An additional benefit in excess of the basic benefit.
Bookmarking
Saving the address of a website or item of content, either in your browser or on a social bookmarking site like del.icio.us. If you add tags, others can easily use your research too.
Break-Even Point
The point at which the costs of producing a product equal the revenue made from selling the product.
Broad Match
This is the default match option. When you include keyword phrases in your keyword list, your ads will appear when users search for any words in these phrases, in any order - and possibly along with other terms.
Broadcasting
Simultaneously emailing the same message to multiple recipients.
Browser
A tool used to view websites, and access all the content available there is on screen or by downloading. Browsers may also be used to upload or otherwise contribute content to a blog or other website. Internet Explorer, Firefox and Safari, Google Chrome are some of the most popular browsers.
Bulletin Boards
The early vehicles for online collaboration, where users connected with a central computer to post and read email-like messages. They were the electronic equivalent of public notice boards. The term is still used for forums.
Call-To-Action
The call-to-action is essential in every form of media. It is what you are telling your prospect what to do.
Campaign
Defines the daily budget, language, geographis scope, and the networks where ads are displayed.
Chat
Interaction on a website, with a number of people adding text items one after the other into the same space at (almost) the same time. A place for chat-chatroom- differs from a forum because conversations happen in "real time", rather as they do face-to-face. Example: Skype
Classified Ad
A breif listing appearing in a periodical of items for sale and/or services offered usually arranged by category. Can be online or in a newspaper and/or other print media.
Click
The action of clicking on an advertisement or other graphical or textual element, which triggers the users to visit an advertisers website.
Click-through
A click-through occurs when a user responds to and online advertisement by clicking on a link that takes them to the advertisers website. Counting click-throughs gives advertisers a better measurement of website traffic than recording hits (also called "pageviews"). Although click-throughs are an important measurement of the success of and online promotion, they do not reflect the quality of site visitors (i.e., How long did they stay? Which pages of your site did they view?)
Click-Through-Tracking
The process of tracking how many recipients clicked on a particular link in an email message. This is commonly done to measure the success of email marketing campaigns.
Co-Registration
Referring leads, subscriptions, or memberships based on opt-in or opt-out preferences.
Communities
Groups of people communicating mainly through the Internet. They may simply have shared interest to talk about...or social networks line Facebook. Online communities may use email lists or forums where content is centralized. Communities may also emerge from conversations around or between bloggers.
Competitive Analysis
Assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of a business as compared to its competitors.
Competitive Intelligence
Competitive intelligence essentially means understanding and learning what's happening in the world outside your business so you can be as competitive as possible. It means learning as much as possible-as soon as possible- about your industry, and your competitor.
Confirmation
A situations where the subscriber must authenticate the subscription request before more emails can be sent.
Confirmed opt-in
"Single confirmed opt-in" and a "Double confirmed opt-in"are ways to collect opt-in emails addresses and protect yourself from accusations of sending spam. Up until a few years ago, everyone used "Single opt-in"web forms to collect email addresses for marketing campaigns. Visitors to a web page entered their name and email address, and that was it-it was understood that they had given permission for the owner of the web page to send them email. However, if you use a single opt-in system, you can run into problems. For example, if someone enters the address of a friend or relative into your web form, that person could receive your newsletter or email promotions without ever having requested email from you-they could accuse you of sending spam. A double opt-in email list will always be more responsive.
Content (Website Content)
Writing specifically for web pages involves incorporating target keywords that tell the search engines what a specific web page is about. Effective content achieves two goals. The first goal is that it creates persuasive, informative content for the website visitor. the second goal is that it maintains an optimum keyword count for the search engines to index.
Content Network
Content-driven ads displayed on non-Google sites through Google Ad Sense affiliate network.
Contextual Advertising
Displaying ads that match the nearby text on a web page. Foe example, if a user is viewing a website about downloading music, the ads displayed might be for a music program like iTunes or Limewire.
Conversion
A website visitor completing a desired action. Types of conversion include signing up for a newsletter, buying a product or service, registering to receive more information, joining an email list, and other transactions.
Conversion Rate (1)
A measure of the number of visitors who follow a call to action on a website. Calls to action include purchasing goods or services, subscribing to a newsletter or email list, contacting the website provider, entering personal information, etc.
Conversion Rate (2)
The number of sales divided by the number of potential sales. you have 100 leads and you make 1 sale = 1/100 = conversion rate of 1%.
Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
Cost per Acquisition.
Cost per Thousand (CPM)
Cost per Thousand.
Cost-Per-Click (CPC)
Cost per Click.
Cost-Per-Click (CPC)
The estimated amount you will pay, calculated by the search engine, for each click-through from an ad to your website.
Creative Commons
A way to license your content so that people can share it.
Crowd-sourcing
Refers to harnessing the skills and enthusiasm of those outside an organization who are prepared to volunteer their time contributing content and solving problems.
CTR
See Click-Through-Rate.
CTR (Click-Through-Rate)
Click-Through-Rate is a measurement of the success of an online promotion. It expresses the percentage of viewers of a web page who click through to an advertisers site. Currently, the advertising industry average is about 0.5%-which means that out of every 200 people who view an ad, one viewer can be expected to take action by visiting the advertisers site.
Database
A database is a sort of electronic filing system that lets you store and organize information. Customers information stored in a database is often organized into separate fields according to name, email address, types of products purchased, and so on. You can search for specific information in a database by using the queries, then organize the information to create powerful, targeted marketing campaigns. For instance, if you were planning an online promotion, you could target specific customers by searching your database for all the customers who have bought one product but not another, or who live in a certain demographic area, or who have nor made a purchase in more than 3 months...or all of the above.
Direct Mail
A form of advertising often employed by businesses to reach targeted groups of potential customers by mail.
Direct Marketing
A direct communication to a customer or business that is designed to generate a response in the form of an order, a request for further information, or a visit to a store or other place of business. (Also called Direct response Advertising)
Direct Response
The best definition of Direct Response is advertising and marketing that encourages a direct action from a person. Typically, you want someone to request additional information and you expect him or her to do it immediately. Your level of direct response is based on your sales message. You can measure the effectiveness of your advertising based on the response rate.
Directory
A directory is a listing of millions of web sites- Yahoo! (yahoo.com) and LookSmart (looksmart.com) are two examples. Directories are not search engines, though many people confuse the two. In a directory, sites are reviewed by editors who organize them into categories like "business", "education", and "entertainment".
Display Ad
An advertisement that uses graphics, as opposed to a classified ad, which uses only text.
Domain Name
A domain name describes one or more IP addresses. Domain names are used in URLs to identify specific web pages. For example, in the URL "www.yourdomain. com/info", "yourdomain.com" is the domain name. Every domain name is followed by a period, and then with a suffix that indicates which "top-level domain" it belongs to. The top-level domains used on the Internet include:
.gov (government agencies)
.edu (educational agencies)
.com (commercial businesses)
.net (network organizations)
.ca (Canada)
.mil (Military)
Double opt-in
The recommended procedure for subscribing email recipients to and email list or newsletter. once a person requests to subscribes to a list, a confirmation email message is automatically send to the supplied email address asking the person to verify that they have in fact, requested to be included in future mailings.
Download
When you download a file, you transfer the file from another computer to your own. While there are a number of ways you can do this on the Internet, FTP, and email attachments are the most common. When you view a web page in your browser, you are essentially downloading the page from the server that it is hosted on.
Dynamic Keyword Insertion (for MLSP web sites)
For certain MLSP capture pages you can dynamically insert keywords into the web page by typing in ?s1=keyword at the end of the URL (ex:http://YOURDOMAIN.com/?s1=keyword)
Dynamic Keyword Insertion (for PPC Advertising)
This allows you to dynamically put in the keyword the searcher used in the engine in the title for your ad with these brackets"{keyword}". (1) {KeyWord: Long Beach}=all words with initial caps (2) {Keyword:Long beach}= First word capitalized (3) {keyword:long beach}=All words in lower case
E-course
For lead generation purposes, the e-course is designed as the free content you provide to your visitors on exchange for their contact information. E-learning often means an approach to facilitate and enhance information given to your potential prospects.
eBook
An eBook (electronic book) is simply a book written in an electronic format so that it can me downloaded to your computer. Depending on the format of an eBook, you can either read the content on your computer or print a portabe hard copy. eBooks are revolutionizing the world of online publishing becaues they are easy and affordable to publish and distribute.
Email Blast
An advertising or marketing message link sent in bulk via email. Also known as an Email Broadcast.
Email harvesting
An automated process of collecting address though a robot program.
Email header
The section of an email message that contains the senders and recipients email addresses as well as the routing information.
Email list
This is the concept of "Building Your List" As prospects opt-in to your websites through an email opt-in form they are added to your email list. this gives you the opportunity to follow up and communicate with all the people on your list automatically whenever you choose.
Email marketing
The use of email (or email lists) to plan and deliver permission-based marketing campaigns.
Exact Match
A keyword option by which you set your ad to be delivered only when the search phrase and that of the internet user match exactly. When you use this option, you put your keyword phrases in [brackets].
Ezine
An ezine is an "electronic magazine" that is emailed to a list of subscribers or posted on a website. Many ezines offer advertising space that is both highly targeted and affordable. Also, publishing your own ezine is and excellent way to establish your creditability as an expert in your field, and win the trust (and business!) of your readers.
Face Side
The U.S. Postal Service considers this the "front" of a postcard. This is also your prime selling space.
Face-to-Face (f2f)
Used to describe people meeting offline. While social media may reduce the need to meet, direct contact gives far more clues, quickly, about a person than you can get online. Online interaction is likely to be richer after a f2f meeting.
Feeds
The means by which you can read, view, or listen to items from blogs and other RSS-enabled sited without visiting the site, by subscribing and using an aggregator or newsletter. Feeds contain the content of an item and any associated tags without the design or structure of a web page.
Field
A field is a space in a web form where a user is required to enter information. For example, an opt-in form for your free newsletter will require information to be entered in at least 2 fields: one for "Name" and one for "Email Address". the information that users enter into a field on your web page is transferred to your database of subscribers information using CGI script.
File Transfer Protocol (FTP)
FTP stands for "File Transfer Protocol" which is a method of uploading and downloading files through the Internet. FTP used to be the only method available, but now there are simpler methods such as email attachments, PDF files, and HTML files.
Firewall
A firewall is a program that protects a computer or network from unauthorized access through the Internet. If you're not using firewall software, web surfers may be able to access (through your Internet connection) information that is stored on your computer. Most companies that do business on the Internet install firewall software to prevent outsiders from accessing private company data.
Flickr
A popular photo-sharing site, where creativity, design, and sharing are valued.
Forums
Discussion areas on websites, where people can post messages or comment on existing messages asynchronously- that is, independently of time or place. Chat is the synchronous equivalent.
Geo-Targeting
Geographical targeting describes the distribution of your ad to Internet users in different countries, states, cities, and regions.
Geographies
In direct marketing, it is important to consider your target markets geographical location: city, state, zip code, and region.
GIF Files
GIF ("Graphics Interchange Format") files are the most common type of image files used on the Internet. These files are compressed so that they take up a minimum amount of space, and can therefore be downloaded much faster than other graphics files. GIF files are limited to 256 colors, but can be animated (like a short video clip) or set transparent (to blend in with the background of a web page). They are typically used in web pages as backgrounds, banners, advertisements and buttons.
Gigabyte
A gigabyte is a unit that describes the storage capacity of a computers memory. One gigabyte of information is the equivalent of about one billion text characters(i.e., letters or numbers).
Currently the most popular search engine, with the largest database and arguably the most accurate search results. Google pioneered the PageRank algorithm as a means of indexing websites and other web documents.
Groups
Collections of individuals with some sense of unity through their activities, interests, or values. Groups are a great way to connect with like minded people online. You will find hundreds of groups representing different interests in many social media networks such as Facebook, Linkedin, Startup.biz.
Headline
The most important element for an advertisement or web page is the headline. the headline is the ad for your ad. the prospect will make the decision to read your ad based on its headline. It;s important to make the headline as strong and powerful as possible. Why? Because five times as many people read the headline as read the rest of an ad. The headline has to instantly communicate what you want to say in simple language that anyone can understand. A headline should convey the single most important benefit of your product or service.
Hit
Traffic to a website can be measures in "hits", which describes the number of times a file (like a page or a graphic) is downloaded from a web server. However, counting hits is a poor way to measure web traffic. Here's why...If your page has five graphics, you'll count hits every time someone views the page(one for page, plus one for each graphic). Therefore, when someone claims that his web page has received over 1,000 hits, it may actually have received 100 actual visitors, if not less. Counting click-throughs provides advertisers with a far more accurate measurement of the effectiveness of a campaign.
Hyperlink
A hyperlink is a piece of text or graphic that is "linked" to a web page (or to a specific location on a web page). When you click on a hyperlink, you are automatically transferred to its target page or location. Hyperlinks are usually blue in color and underlined. When they are activated, they change color. hyperlinks also appear in the forms of arrows, buttons, or graphics.
HyperText Markup Language (HTML)
HyperText Markup Language is the code that browsers read and translate into a viewable web page. HTML tells the browser where to put text, graphics, forms, tables, sound, video, color, etc. To see the HTML code behind any web page on the Internet, simply open your web browser and select "view source" under the "view" menu. A great online HTML tutorial we recommend can be found at www.htmlclinic.com or www.davesite.com/webstation/html
Impression
The number of times a banner ad is downloaded from a server (and possibly viewed) is referred to as the number of "impressions" it receives. Banner advertising is usually sold on a cost per thousand basis (CPM). Advertisers use Impressions to measure the effectiveness of an advertising campaign- but impressions, like hits, give a relatively inaccurate measurement of how many times a downloaded ad as actually been viewed. Users may be viewing web pages in a text only browser, or they may not scroll far enough down a page to see the ad.
IP address
An IP (Internet Protocol) address appears as a set of for numbers separated by periods (e.g.: 30.148.15.135), and acts as a unique identifier for your computer when you are connected to a network or Internet. IP addresses are unique sets of registered numbers, and are often referred to as "Internet addresses". The InterNIC Registration Service assigns Internet addresses that identify a particular network and a particular web host on that network. Your web host then provides you with an IP address that is linked to your domain name.
ISP (Internet Service Provider)
Your ISP(Internet Service Provider) is the company that provides you with access to the Internet. The ISP is (or should be) connected to the Internet 24 hours a day. If you have telephone dial-up access, your computer's modem dials the phone number of the ISP, which then connects you to the Internet and allows you to access your email and the World Wide Web. If your ISP provides high-speed cable or DSL service, you have access to the Internet 24 hours a day-whenever your computer is turned on.
KEI Ratio
KEI (Keyword Effectiveness Indicator) is a way to measure how competitive a search word phrase is in comparison to other search phrases. The higher the KEI, the better.
Keyphrase
A two or more word phrase prospects would type into a search query box to find products and services like yours.
Keyword
By entering keywords (or key phrases) into a search engine, you can locate web sites or information related to those keywords. For example, when searching for web sites about dogs, you might use the keywords "dog", "puppy", "pet food", "beagle" and so on.
Keyword Combinations
Terms that contain a set of targeted keywords ordered in different sequences.
Keyword Count (Occurrance)
How often a keyword or keyword phrase occurs in a particular HTML page section. The keyword count is used in a calculation to determine the keyword density.
Keyword Density
Keyword density is the ratio of the number of times a keyword appears within a web page`s text. Keyword Density measures the keyword density of all keywords on any page on any web site. The density analysis includes the occurrence, popularity, and density of keywords from the page title, links, headings, and page body text.
Keyword Matching
A set of options that, when applied to the keywords in your AdWords account, allows you to control the distribution of your ad. Through keyword matching, you "tell" the system how exactly to match your keywords with those of the people that make the search.
Keyword Popularity
Keyword popularity is equal to the number of times a keyword is queried in the search engine's database, usually estimated from the actual search counts of the previous month.
Keyword Predict
The estimated daily search volume for any given keyword across all search engines provided by keyword tools and databases.
Keyword Relevance
A measure of the relevance of a web site to a keyword (or set of keywords) used in a search query. Keyword Relevance is primarily measured by the use of keywords in the title tag, meta tags, alternative text, hyperlink text, or document text of a web site.
Keyword Research
Discovery and analysis of keywords (or word) to target for a search engine marketing campaign.
Keyword Targeted Campaign
A campaign where the advertiser selects keywords that will trigger ads from the campaign. Keyword-targeted ads can appear on search results pages, on content pages, and on other properties in the Google Network.
Keyword Tool
A free or subscription based tool that provides collected search term data from 200 search engines world wide. Example www.wordtracker.com.
Keyword Variations
Keyword variations include singular/plural forms, capitalization, relevant variants of your keywords, and phrases containing your keywords.
Landing Page
The first page of yours that someone views. Usually, that person arrives at that page by following a link form some other site rather than typing in your web address. The landing page can be any one of your pages --home page, product page, registration page. It is often a highly keyword oriented page that will get it a high search engine ranking, also know as a lead capture page, splash page, or squeeze page.
Lateral Search Terms
A lateral search looks at page details such as keywords of pages that are thought to be competing or related to your topic. Doing a lateral search sometimes enables us to uncover keywords that we might otherwise miss, and which do not contain the term searched.
Lead Capture
Means capturing or obtaining the contact information (name and email) of your sites visitors. Your Lead Capture Page is a web site or form on a web site that can be promoted through any method of marketing, also known as a splash page or squeeze page.
Linked In
A social network around business (see also Ryze and Facebook).
Long Tail Keywords
Long tail keywords are keyword terms that are less popular, less competitive and less searched for. but when taken collectively, long tail keyword phrases can be responsible for driving significant levels of web site traffic.
Lurkers
People who read but don't contribute or add comments to forums. The one percent rule-of-thumb suggests that about one percent of people contribute new content to an online community, another nine percent comment, and the rest lurk. However, this may not be a passive role because content read on forums may spark interaction elsewhere.
Mail Server
Your mail server is the computer (and the software it uses) that transmits, receives and stores your email messages. It is located at your email client and/or your ISP.
Mailing List
Your mailing list is the list of customers and subscribers who have given you their email addresses so that they may receive email from you. This list is one of the most valuable components of your business- and should be treated as such!! Never give or sell your list to anyone.
Maximum Cost Per Click (Max CPC/Bid)
The maximum price that an advertiser is willing to pay for each click. Generally, the advertiser pays a smaller cost-per-click than their maximum bid. the Max Bid goes into determining the ranking of an ad in the sponsored results for a search.
Meta Tag
An HTML tag that gives information about the content of a web site. Meta tags are non-visible text that help define your web site for search engine spiders.
Misspelled Keywords
Errors in spelling. You have to take them into consideration when building your keyword list. The reason is that many people type their search phrases with misspellings, but they are still potential targeted traffic for you.
MSN Search
Microsoft`s search engine at www.msn.com, most recently renamed to www.bing.com.
Natural Search Results (Organic Listings)
The non-sponsored results that are delivered by a search engine when a user enters a search item. These results are displayed at the left of the search engine`s results page when someone makes a search.
Negative Keywords
Use negative matching to eliminate certain searches that mat be irrelevant to your web site. You can add a negative sign (-) before the keyword that you wish to use to prevent your ads from displaying.
Networks
Structures defined by nodes and the connections between them. In social networks, the nodes are people, and the connections are the relationships that they have. Networking is the process by which you develop and strengthen those relationships.
Newsletter
A set of articles or summaries of information delivered in a specific format.
Offer
The offer you make in a direct mail package needs to be carefully thought our and matched as closely as possible to the interests, needs, and motivations of the list. As a rule of thumb, the more specifically matched the offer and list, the higher the response rate.
Open Rate
The percentage of recipients who opened their email messages. The open rate is often used to measure the success of an email marketing campaign.
Operating System
A program that manages all other programs in a computer, such as Windows or Unix.
Opt-In
When you opt into a mailing list, you give someone your email address, usually by entering it into a web form. By opting-in, you give them permission to add you to their opt-in mailing list and send you email-usually in the form of a newsletter or ezine. You may also fill out an opt-in form in order to be entered into a contest, or to receive a free eBook or whitepaper.
Optimization
The process of improving a web site for search engine visibility. Optimization may include building keyword density, link popularity, search engine compatibility, and improving website content.
Organic Search Results (Organic Listings)
The non-sponsored results that are delivered by a search engine when a user enters a search item. These results are displayed at the left of the search engine`s results page when someone makes a search.
Page Rank
The algorithm used to determine the hierarchy of page and web pages in the search engine index. Devised Google, Page Rank is a measure of the quality and quantity of traffic, links, visitors, and keyword content of a web site.
Pay-Per-Click (PPC)
An advertising payment model that allows advertisers to bid on keywords and pay only when the ad is clicked, thus paying for actual traffic rather than page impressions. The highest keyword bidders receive the highest rankings in search engine results pages, and therefore, the most traffic. the PPC model was first introduced to search my Overture, and make famous by the enormous profits generated by Google's Adsense and Adwords programs.
PDF (Portable Document Format)
PDF stands for "Portable Document Format". Like HTML or text, it is a way of formatting a file. PDF is promoted and marketed by Adobe Systems Inc., and is widely used with eBooks, newsletters, ezines, and other online versions of print publications. Both Windows and Mac users can read PDF files using Adobe Acrobat Reader. For a free copy of Acrobat Reader go to: http://get.adobe.com/uk/reader/ or for a free online PDF creator www.pdfonline.com
Permission Marketing
Permission marketing is a term used in emarketing. Marketers will ask permission before they send advertisements to prospective customers. It is used by some Internet marketers, email marketers, and telephone marketers. It requires that people first "opt-in", rather than allowing people to opt-out only after the ads have been sent.
Personalization
The insertion of a personal greeting in email messages (for instance "Dear John" rather than the generic "Dear Customer"). Personalization is available in all our recommended email software, Aweber, GetResponse, iContact.
Phrase Match
The option that limits your ad to be displayed only when somebody types in the search box a phrase that includes your keywords, in the same order. Surrounding a keyword phrase with "quotation marks" makes the ad appear only when a user searches for the words in that order, combined with other search terms.
Podcast
Audio or video content that can me downloaded automatically through a subscription to a web site so you can view or listen offline.
Positioning
The process of placing your company's image or identity foremost in the minds of customers.
PPC
The amount you actually pay for reach click, considering your click through rate and the performances of your competitor ads. In this way, you may get to pay less then you bid.
Press Release
A public relations announcements issued to the news media and other targeted publications for the purpose of letting the public know of an important event or piece of information about your company. A press release is a great way to increase your search engine visibility since your company will be featured as current top news in your industry. See www.PRWeb.com
Privacy Policy
An essential tool for every email marketer. It is a public statement declaring that you will never share, sell or give away the email addresses that the people on your mailing list have entrusted with you. If you will be send email to a mailing list, you must develop a privacy policy and post it on your web site.
Profiles
The information that you provide about yourself when signing up for a social networking site. As well as a picture and basic information, this may include your personal and business interests, a "blurb" about yourself, and tags to help people search for like-minded people.
R/S Ratio
Results-to-Searches Ratio, the ratio of the number of web sites listed versus the number of times the keyword is searched for on the search engine. For the R/S ration, the lower the better.
Ranking
The position of your site in a search engines natural results, when a user enters a particular search term. Ranking -or ad rank- also refers to the position a pay-per-click ad is placed in the sponsored listing, as determined by Max Bid, and click-through-rate.
Related Keywords
Closely related keywords and search phrases that are relevant to your web site or business that are not the obvious search terms.
Relevancy
The accuracy of the match between the keyword typed in the search box by an Internet user and the results returned by the search engine.
ROI (Retun on Investment)
Percentage of profit returned for the funds invested to produce it.
RSS (Real Simple Syndication)
This allows you to subscribe to content on blogs and other social media and have it delivered to you through feed.
Sales Copy
If you are selling products or services on the Internet, you need to use words to sell. You need cleverly written sales copy that triggers desire and takes away the visitors resistance. Good sales copy is the most important part of your overall Internet marketing strategy.
Search Engine
Are essential Internet tools, used for locating web sites related to particular subjects. When you visit a search engine web site, you type in keyword or key phrases, and the search engine locates the web sites that match your keywords. Each search engine has different criteria by which it searches and lists websites. So you will get different results by searching for the same keyword combinations in different search engines.
Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
The process of marketing a web site through search engines. Search engine marketing drives traffic by paying for ad words, page rank, and/or inbound links.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Differs from Search Engine marketing in that SEO involves only natural (unpaid) techniques to improve search engine ranking, and SEM involves paid ads or paid placement. Both SOE and SEM are used to increase web site traffic, conversions, page rank, and RIO.
Search Network
Ads displayed on Google search results pages and their search network, which includes Froggle, Google Groups, and search sites such as Ask.com and AOL.
Search Query
The keyword, keyphrase, or list of words that you type into a search engine to find relevant web sites.
Search Spider (or Spyder)
A program that constantly scans the Internet to collect information for search engines. Spiders follow internal and external links to create an index of all documents on the Internet. Also called a "crawler".
Search Term
The same as a keyword. A word or phrase through which a person defines what he is looking for. The phrase is used to inquire the database of indexed pages of a search engine.
Secure Server
If you are planning to conduct credit card transactions or collect personal information at your web site, you will need access to a secure server. A secure server encrypts personal information(i. e. converts it into secret code) to make sure it cannot be view by unauthorized users. When you view a secure page, your web browser will display a picture of a lock or key to indicate that the page is secure. Check with your web host to see whether they have secure server capabilities. If you have yet to choose a web host, this is a feature that you may want to ask about. Look for a web host with low or no additional setup fees. Note, though, that your entire site does not need to be secured - just your order page.
Segmenting Your List
Using several qualifiers, including specific demographic, geographic, and lifestyle criteria to hone in on a select group of people that are most likely to respond to your offer.
Server
A server is a computer dedicated to storing files. Web Hosting companies store (or "host") web sites on their servers for a monthly or annual fee.
Site Targeted Campaign
Lets AdWords advertisers choose individual web sites in the Google content network where they'd like their ads to appear. You can select sites for your site-targeted campaign in two ways: Name the specific web sites where you'd like to advertise, or use a list of keywords that describe your site.
Social Media
The terms for the tools and platforms people use to publish, converse, and share content online. The tools include blogs, Wiki, podcasts, and sites to share photos and bookmarks.
Social Networking
Social networking sits are the online places where users can create a profile for themselves, and then socialize with others using a range of social medial tools including blog, video, images, tagging, list of friends, forums, and ,messaging.
Source Code
The original program instructions (usually written in HTML) that make up a web page. You can view the source of any web page in Internet Explorer and/or Firefox by selecting "view source" from the "view" menu.
Spam
Unsolicited commercial email. You are "spamming" people if you send email to people who have not given you permission to do so. If you send spam, be prepared for serious consequences: your email messages may be caught in spam filters, your email account may be blacklisted by spam-fighting organizations (or shut down by your ISP), and your web host may suspend your service.
Sponsors
Pay-per-click advertising campaigns. Sponsored ads are usually found at the top or at the sidebar of the search engine results.
Subject Line
The part of an email message where senders can type what the email message is about. Subject lines are considered important by email marketers because they can often influence whether a recipient will open an email message.
Submission
The act of supplying a URL to a search engine in an attempt to make a search engine aware of a web site or page. Also refers to the act of submitting content to the various content sharing and social media web sites.
Tags
Keywords attached to a blog post, bookmark, photo, or other item of content so you and others can find them easily through searches and aggregation.
Target Marketing
A portion of a market that you've identified as having some special characteristic that is worth marketing to. Your target should arise naturally from your interests and experience. For example, if you spent the last 10 years as a realtor, you may decide to start marketing to people in the real estate industry because you are familiar with their mind-set.
Targeting
Using demographics and related information in a customer database to select the most appropriate recipients for a specific campaign.
Terms of Services
The basis on which you agree to use a forum or other web-based place for creating or sharing content. Check before agreeing what rights the site owners may claim over your content.
Threads
Strands of conversation. On an email list or web forum, they will be defined by messages that use the same subject. On blogs, they are less clearly defined, but emerge through comments and trackbacks.
Trackback
Some blogs provide a facility for other bloggers to leave a calling card automatically, instead of commenting. Blogger A may write on blog A about an item on Blogger B's site, and through the trackback facility leave a link on B's site back to A. The collection of comments and trackbacks on a site facilitates conversations.
Tracking
In an email marketing campaign, measuring behavioral activities such as click-throughs and open-ups.
Trade Journal
A periodical publications focusing on matters concerning a particular industry or group of industries. Also called a "trade publications". Examples include: Publishers Weekly, Women's Wear Daily, or Todays Chemist at Work.
Traffic
The number of people that visit your web page, being led there by you marketing campaigns. Traffic may be measured by hits, impressions, clicks, page views, visitors, unique visitors, or other indications of website activity.
Unique Selling Position (USP)
The strongest benefit your business has over competition. Your USP should show that by suing your product or service, the prospect will get a particular benefit not available from anyone else. Ask yourself "Why would someone want to to business with me?"
Unique Visitor
Unique visitors to a website or web page are tracked by their unique IP addresses, which are much like online fingerprints.
Unsubscribe
To remove a subscriber from an email list.
Unsubscribe Link
If you are sending email messaged to an opt-in mailing list, you MUST include an unsubscribe link in the body of EVERY message. An unsubscribe link sends a message to the list owner (in this case you) requesting that the recipient of the original email be removed from the senders list. If you send a promotional email without including an unsubscribe link, you may be accused of sending spam. This is included automatically, in the email services we recommend you use: Aweber, GetResponse or iContact.
Upload
To transfer a file or other content from your computer to an Internet site. You can also upload information when you transfer it from your own computer to another computer. For example, after you create a web page from your own computer, you upload it to to server of your web host, where it is posted on the World Wide Web.
URL (Uniform Resource Locater)
URL stands for "Uniform Resource Locater" Your URL is the online address of your website or web page. For example, the URL of MyLeadSystemPRO is http://www.MyLeadSystemPRO.com.
User Created Content (UCC)
User created content, whether design, music, video, or some multi-media mashup.
Viral Marketing
A marketing strategy that encourages email recipients to pass along messages to others in order to generate additional exposure.
Visibility
Measure of a websites ranking in search engines or directories.
Voice Broadcast
Voice broadcasting and voice mail broadcast allows you to instantly send hundreds or even thousands of interactive phone calls with ease while managing the entire process right from the Web.
Voice Over Internet Protocol (VOIP)
Enables you to use a computer or other Internet device for phone calls without additional charge.
Web 2.0
A term coined by O'Reilly Media in 2004 to describe blogs, wikis, social networking sites, and other Internet-based services that emphasize collaboration and sharing, rather than less interactive publishing (Web 1.0). It is associated with the idea of the Internet as a platform.
Web Form
An HTML form that contains fields for collecting information. In order to send the collected information to the owner of the form, a web form needs to incorporate a programming script (usually CGI script).
Web Host
A company that sells online "space" where websites are stored (or "hosted"). As web hosts computers are (ideally) connect to the Internet 24 hours a day so web surfers around the world can access your page at any time.
Whitelist
A list of pre-authorized email address from which email messages can be delivered regardless of spam filters.
Wiki
A web page - or set of pages - that can be edited collaboratively. the best known example is Wikipedia, an encyclopedia created by thousands of contributors across the world. Once people have appropriate permissions - set by the Wiki owner - they can create pages and/or add to and alter existing pages.
WordPress
A free blogging platform. (see also Typepad an Blogger)
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